Africa’s Night Of Stars: AMVCA 2023 Keeps Africa Captivated

226 0

Prepare to be swept away by a dazzling extravaganza of style, talent, and heartfelt moments as the much-anticipated 9th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) took center stage. This unforgettable night in Lagos showcased Africa’s finest in the world of entertainment and film, leaving no doubt that the continent is brimming with extraordinary creative brilliance.

Hosted by the extraordinary Zozibini Tunzi and IK Osakioduwa, the evening commenced with a spectacular parade of fashion on the red carpet. African celebrities and nominated stars graced the event, captivating everyone with their jaw-dropping ensembles and dapper tuxedos. From the bedazzled elegance of Ini Edo to the regal purple essence of Nse Ikpe-Etim and the suave charm of Tope Tedela, the red carpet became a feast for the eyes, displaying a stunning tapestry of style and inspiration. See some of the stunning looks below.

Our beloved favorites made daring fashion choices, some leaving us in awe, others leaving us in shock. However, the magic of the AMVCA didn’t stop at fashion; it was a celebration of talent and creativity across more than 30 categories, spanning television shows, movies, and various artistic endeavors. The star-studded event, which had some of the biggest names in the entertainment industry, featured performances by artists such as Tiwa Savage, Iyanya and Spyro.

As the night unfolded, the deserving winners stepped into the limelight. Bimbo Ademoye, known for her leading role in “Selina,” took home the Best Actress in a Comedy award, while Samuel Perry, popularly known as Brother Shaggi, received the Best Actor in a Comedy award for his performance in “Inside Life.” Tobi Bakre, with his stellar portrayal in “Brotherhood,” claimed the prestigious Best Actor in a Drama or TV Series award.

In a heartwarming acceptance speech, Tobi Bakre expressed gratitude to his family, parents, God, his beautiful wife, and Jade Osiberu for believing in him. He acknowledged the inspiring presence of his fellow nominees, promising that this was just the beginning of his extraordinary journey and that he will be at next year’s awards ceremony to win the same awards.

Osas Ighodaro triumphantly won the Best Actress in a Drama/TV Series award, uttering heartfelt words of appreciation. “Thank you, God is good. This means a lot because there are many times I felt counted out, and to be able to be here to accept this… Thank you AMVCA, thank you Bolanle Austin-Peters for believing in me. Thank you, God bless you all,” she said, with tears of joy in her eyes.

The biggest winners of the night were Kunle Afolayan’s masterpiece “Anikulapo” and Jade Osiberu’s captivating “Brotherhood,” receiving five awards each from their numerous nominations. Meanwhile, the real OG, veteran Nollywood actress Patience Ozokwor aka Mama G, was honored with the industry merit award, acknowledging her immense and inspiring contributions to the film industry. The Trailblazer Award went to the 17-year-old incredibly talented actress Angel Unigwe, shining a spotlight on her promising future.

The complete list of winners for the 9th AMVCA is as follows:

BEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY – Samuel Perry (Broda Shaggi) – Inside Life

BEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA – Tobi Bakre – Brotherhood

BEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY – Bimbo Ademoye – Selina

BEST ACTRESS IN A DRAMA – Osas Ighodaro – Man of God

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – Abdisattar Ahmed – Gacal

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – Efe Irele – Four Four Forty-Four

BEST SHORT FILM – Adeoye Adetunji – Pa Aromire

BEST ONLINE SOCIAL CONTENT CREATOR – Elozonam, Kie Kie – Back From The Future





BEST ART DIRECTOR – Wale Adeleke – King Of Thieves (Agesinkole)

BEST COSTUME DESIGNER – Adeola Art-Alade – The Real Housewives of Lagos Reunion Episode

BEST LIGHTING DESIGNER – Mathew Yusuf – Brotherhood

BEST PICTURE EDITOR – Holmes Awa & Daniel Tom – Crime & Justice

BEST SOUND EDITOR – Anu Afolayan – Anikulapo

BEST SOUNDTRACK – Kent Edunjobi – Anikulapo

BEST MAKE UP – Maryam Ndukwe, Hakeem Effects Onilogbo – Shanty Town

BEST WRITER – Sola Dada – Anikulapo

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHER – Loukman Ali – Brotherhood


BEST MOVIE EAST AFRICA – Philip Karanja Njenga – Click Click Bang 

BEST MOVIE WEST AFRICA – Jade Osiberu – Brotherhood

BEST TELEVISION SERIES – Yinka Edward – Crime & Justice

BEST DOCUMENTARY – Nora Awolowo – Nigeria: The Debut

BEST DIRECTOR – Loukman Ali – Brotherhood


BEST INDIGENOUS LANGUAGE – SWAHILI – Philip Karanja Njenga – Click Click Bang

BEST INDIGENOUS LANGUAGE – YORUBA – Kunle Afolayan – Anikulapo

BEST INDIGENOUS LANGUAGE – HAUSA – Abubakar Bashir Maishadda – Aisha


BEST OVERALL MOVIE – Kunle Afolayan – Anikulapo

These winners were voted the best out of other excellent choices, and while some felt slighted or overlooked, most were excited about the nominations and even more elated about their wins. The 9th AMVCA dazzled with its grandeur, and really highlighted the overall artistic brilliance of Africa. From the incredible movies to the dazzling fashion looks, the emotional speeches and well-deserved recognition, it was a night to remember.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from District234

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading